TBARTA MPOs CCC Background

The West Central Florida MPOs Chairs Coordinating Committee (CCC) was established in 1993 by statute to coordinate projects deemed regionally significant, review regionally significant land use decisions, review all proposed regionally significant projects affecting more than one MPO, and institute a conflict resolution process throughout the West Central Florida region. In 2007, the Tampa Bay Area Regional Transportation Authority (TBARTA) was created by statute to develop and implement a regional transportation Master Plan covering seven counties within the Tampa Bay region. Over the past several years, the CCC and TBARTA have integrated their planning for the region more closely, and effective July 1, 2016, the CCC was merged into TBARTA. The CCC is now referred to as the TBARTA MPOs CCC. On April 11, 2016, Florida Governor Rick Scott signed into law House Bill 7061 which contained the legislative language merging the CCC into TBARTA.



The TBARTA MPOs CCC Board includes voting members and non-voting members. The six voting members of the TBARTA MPOs CCC Board are the Chairs of the regions five MPOs and one Transportation Planning Organization (TPO), which include Forward Pinellas, Hernando/Citrus MPO, Hillsborough MPO, Pasco County MPO, Polk County TPO, and Sarasota/Manatee MPO. The non-voting members of the TBARTA MPOs CCC Board are the FDOT Secretaries from Districts 1 and 7, the Florida Turnpike Enterprise, TBARTA, and the Central Florida, Tampa Bay, and Southwest Florida Regional Planning Councils.

Click to access TBARTA MPOs CCC Board


TBARTA MPOs CCC Priority Projects Adopted Annually

On July 15, 2016 the TBARTA MPOs CCC Board approved the Regional Priority Projects, Regional Multi-Use Trail Priority Projects, Transportation Regional Incentive Program (TRIP) Priority Projects, and the Regional Roadway Network. 

Click to access 2016 TBARTA MPOs CCC Priority Projects


TBARTA MPOs CCC Regional Planning & Coordination                   

Following the 2016 merger, the TBARTA MPOs CCC Board, MPO Staff Directors Committee, Regional Multi-Use Trails Committee, and Transportation Regional Incentive Program (TRIP) Working Group became an integral part of TBARTA and the region’s transportation planning efforts. The TBARTA Transit Management Committee (TMC) and Citizens Advisory Committee (CAC), along with the TBARTA MPOs CCC Committees, provide the framework and forum for regional transportation planning and coordination.

The TBARTA MPOs CCC annually updates the West Central Florida Regional Roadway Network, maintains transportation project priorities for TRIP funding, and agrees upon the Regional Multi-Use Trails priority list for local, regional, and Shared-Use Non-motorized (SUN) Trail funding. The CCC developed a regional congestion management process in 2012 and has the framework to collaborate on future air quality planning, should the region be designated as a nonattainment area. The Staff Directors from the region’s MPOs/TPO meet monthly to coordinate and implement regional policies, while setting agendas for Board meetings. 

These priorities highlight projects from Citrus County (north) to Sarasota County (south) and Polk County (east) to Pinellas County (west) – encompassing over five million people and eight counties. The regional priority projects and the coordination among the MPOs/TPO is crucial to improving transportation, economic competitiveness, and quality of life for residents and visitors.

The goal of the TBARTA MPOs CCC is to prioritize and find ways to address the transportation needs of West Central Florida. These goals are achieved through the support and cooperation of its member agencies, partner entities and advisory committees. The TBARTA MPOs CCC develops regional solutions to transportation problems and ensures a consistent regional planning approach among the six member agencies. In that context, the TBARTA MPOs CCC is responsible for the following activities: 


The TBARTA MPOs CCC is responsible for planning documents and regional priorities, including the Transportation Regional Incentive Program (TRIP) and West Central Florida Regional Roadway Network. Since 2010, the CCC has contracted TBARTA to provide organization and administrative services for the functions of the TBARTA MPOs CCC. Meeting information is available on the TBARTA Calendar.

Click to access Planning Documents and Administrative Documents of the TBARTA MPOs CCC.

For infromation regarding the TBARTA MPOs CCC, please contact:

Anthony Matonti Planner II, TBARTA at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.