TBARTA - Tampa Bay Area Regional Transportation Authority
You Tube


TBARTA EventsThe Tampa Bay Area Regional Transportation Authority (TBARTA) was created by the Florida State Legislature in 2007 to develop and implement a Regional Transportation Master Plan for the seven-county West Central Florida region consisting of Citrus, Hernando, Hillsborough, Manatee, Pasco, Pinellas and Sarasota Counties. The agency consists of:

  • Governing board made up of elected officials and appointed members from around the region,
  • Citizens Advisory Committee (CAC) made up of citizen representatives appointed by the TBARTA Board,
  • Transit Management Committee (TMC) made up of the executive directors of the transit agencies in the region, and
  • Land Use Working Group (LUWG) made up of representatives from local government and regional land use planning agencies, environmental groups, the development community, transportation agencies, and the public.

For more information about the Authority, please click on the links below.

TBARTA's Vision

A world class transportation network for the Tampa Bay region that will connect people and places, move goods and services, enhance the quality of life, and offer transportation options that are safe, sustainable, affordable, and efficient. We will act as a catalyst for a vibrant economic future through leadership, collaboration, and partnerships.

TBARTA’s Purpose

The authority’s purpose is to improve mobility and expand multimodal transportation options for passengers and freight throughout the seven-county region.


BoardThe TBARTA Board is made up of representatives from the seven counties, four largest cities, the region’s Metropolitan Planning Organizations (MPOs), Business Community, and Florida Department of Transportation. The Board meets regularly to discuss implementing a Regional Transportation Master Plan.

Citizens Advisory Committee

The Citizens Advisory Committee (CAC) is made up of residents and business persons from around the region. Members are appointed by the TBARTA Board members and volunteer their time to advise the Board on a range of issues that affect TBARTA and the region.

Transit Management Committee

The TMC is made up of the region’s transit agency directors, who advise the Board on implementation of the Regional Transportation Master Plan.

Land Use Working Group

The Land Use Working Group (LUWG) is the primary forum for coordination between the Master Plan and local land use planning concerns such as existing land use patterns, long-range land use plans, growth projections, and local community goals.